Kaidi Tatham’s influential and elusive 2008 LP ‘In Search of Hope’ has been reissued by the heroes over at First Word Records.

Rightly recognised as a vanguard of effortlessly, jazzed out, audible delights, Kaidi Tatham’s productions carve their own unique space within the British musical landscape. From solo efforts, to Bugz In The Attic and link ups with 2000Black Family, K.T.’s musical appeal hits dance heads and jazz connoisseurs alike.

Originally released on vinyl-only via Japanese label Freedom School in 2008, it has assumed somewhat of a mythical status. At 11 tracks deep it’s a naturally flavoursome journey through the realms of jazz licks, broken beats and hypnotic synth-work. No doubt about it, First Word have done us all a massive favour in reissuing the vinyl and making this hidden gem digitally available for the first time.

After a buoyant introduction, ‘Swift Inspiration (Quick Kid)’ juggles the tone with some signature drum patterns and timeless groove. ‘Do What You Gotta Do’ patiently marches forward until a well placed jazz flute pushes the tempo over the finish line, whilst the keys in ‘He Laughs She Cries’ expertly demonstrate Kaidi’s musical wizardry.

Kaidi Tatham – He Laughs She Cries

Never one to be bound by tempo, ‘So Amazed’ lets the drums do the work and maintains a fluid energy throughout. The reduction in pace and increase in space for ‘I’m High’ speaks for itself! A personal favourite of ours, ‘On A Vibe’ neatly brings together everything we love about Kaidi’s productions and has been known to ignite a dance floor on more than one occasion.

Kaidi Tatham – On a Vibe

Despite being originally released over 12 years ago, ‘In Search of Hope’ is undoubtedly a timeless body of work. With every track a masterclass in soulful, jazzed out, broken beats, the LP sounds as fresh today as it did in ’08. Coming highly recommended, if stacks of wax are your thing, best to act swiftly to bag your self a copy!

Head over to First Word Records or Kaidi Tatham on Bandcamp to make your day a little piece more jazzy.

Kaidi Tatham – ‘In Search of Hope’ [FW208] released 15th May 2020

A1. In Search Of Hope Pt.1

A2. Swift Inspiration (Quick Kid)

A3. Do What You Gotta Do

B1. Could I Ever Know

B2. He Laughs She Cries

C1. So Amazed

C2. I’m High

C3. Simiya

D1. On A Vibe

D2. These Things Will Pass

D3. In Search Of Hope Pt. 2