Pioneers Tony Allen & Hugh Masekela release collaborative album ‘Rejoice’

The late, great, South African singer, trumpeter, flugelhornist and composer Hugh Masekela has released some forgotten studio session recordings with legendary drummer Tony Allen. The eight track LP Rejoice’ presents the fruits of studio jams that took place back in 2010, it’s a stripped back collection of subtle and inventive drums combined with Hugh’s unique ability on the horn.

Words from World Circuit:

“’Rejoice’ can be seen as the long overdue confluence of two mighty African musical rivers – a union of two free-flowing souls for whom borders, whether physical or stylistic, are things to pass through or ignore completely. According to Allen, the album deals in “a kind of South African-Nigerian swing-jazz stew”, with its roots firmly in Afrobeat. Allen and Masekela are accompanied on the record by a new generation of well-respected jazz musicians including Tom Herbert (Acoustic Ladyland / The Invisible), Joe Armon-Jones (Ezra Collective), Mutale Chashi (Kokoroko) and Steve Williamson.”

‘Coconut jam’ in particular stands out as an unrefined to-and-fro between Tony on drums with Hugh floating effortlessly on top. Another personal standout is ‘We’ve Landed’ which also takes an elegant and minimal percussive direction with the addition of Tony’s deep vocals; creating a warm textured piece of jazz.

The entire project is a beautifully crafted mix of jazz with their natural hints of afrobeat and South African vocals and rhythms. Head over to World Circuit for more info.

Tony Allen & Hugh MasekelaRejoice’ [WCV094]  20th March 2020

  1. Robbers, Thugs and Muggers (O’Galajani)
  2. Agbada Bougou
  3. Coconut Jam
  4. Never (Lagos Never Gonna Be The Same)
  5. Slow Bones
  6. Jabulani (Rejoice, Here Comes Tony)
  7. Obama Shuffle Strut Blues
  8. We’ve Landed